Thruscross Reservoir Walk

A few weeks ago we took a drive out to Thruscross Reservoir. A very cold day but nice to get out and about.

My waterproof coat. A must have for a walk like this in November!

The start of the walk, just as you get into the woodland it becomes quite dark by the trees towering over you.

A clearing in the woods, overlooking the reservoir.

We stumbled across some Fly Agaric, which is a very poisenous fungi. If eaten, causes severe gastro-intestinal disturbance, delirium, hallucinations, convulsions, then coma-like sleep.
So don’t be tempted to lick it like I was!

Also came across this, Panther Cap. Again. Do not eat, can be fatal!

Some more spooky looking trees and branches.

Another clearining, with some beautiful autumnal colours on the trees.

Into the dark woods we go. It really is this dark even at mid-day!

More water.

When you come out of the woods you hit moorland, where you have to trek across to get back to the car park.

Probably my favourite shot of the day. The water was so calm.

And finally, just before we got back to the car park a shot of the resovoir wall.

It was a great day out,brilliant for photography.

Thanks for looking :)

<p style=”text-align: center;”

80 responses to “Thruscross Reservoir Walk

  1. Nature is such a vixen.

    Check out how BEAUTIFUL all of these caustic, dangerous fungi are!

    Makes me inherently suspicious of women like Angelina Jolie and Scarlett Johannsen. And men like George Clooney and, well, George Clooney.

    Stunning images…thank you for sharing! :)

  2. I love the large masses of water.

    What camera do you use? (I’m learning how to use a hand-me-down SLR and I’m asking everyone this question). LOL.

  3. Your favorite shot is my favorite, as well! Wow–I’m trying to take in the image as fully as possible–where I blog from here in Haiti–I never see anything so utterly serene! Thanks for sharing and congratulations on being freshly pressed! Happy Holidays from Port-au-Prince!

  4. You have some lovely shots on here! I love the trees in the eightth one, and the toadstoos/mushrooms especially. The second to last has gorgeous colour contrast!

  5. Pingback: 闲来话话 » Thruscross Reservoir Walk·

  6. Beautiful, peaceful images. The one of the dark forest entry is eerie! I don’t think I could have gone in. Thanks for sharing these gorgeous images!

  7. Amazing photos and make me want to be less careful taking pics. Not that I think you haven’t been careful, but I usually try so hard to make the perfect shot that I end up losing the great perspective I find in your photos.

    The “clearing in the woods overlooking the reservoir” is my case in point. It is amazing and I would have tried to “right” the photo which would be a total mistake! Thanks for giving me a new idea within the few seconds it took to look at your great photos!

  8. I saw your blog featured on the WP Dashboard as I just logged in, and wondered where this place was as it looks so lovely. I am pleased to note that we are not too far away, and we come up that way on a regular basis (when it isn’t snowing, that is!). I will have to investigate further next time we are in that area. Lovely images – this post and others. I will have to re-visit to read more.

    All the best.
    Diane

  9. Beautiful photos from around Thruscross Reservoir, such wonderful light and colours.

    This was always a great place to escape to when I needed to get out of ‘orrible Harrogate!
    :)

  10. You sound like a peaceful person. I’m sure you glean your inner-peace from your merging with nature. I’m certain that you and your family will spend much quality bonding time in the Great Outdoors. Good.

  11. I’ve never seen such pretty fungus in my life !! Your photos are GEORGEOUS ! such a treat to find this…..thank you for sharing your art, it’s incredible really

  12. Your photography brings life to the Qur’anic exhortation about God’s handiwork:

    “Who is the One who created the heavens and the earth? Who is the One who sends down to you from the sky water, whereby we produce gardens full of beauty – you could not possibly manufacture its trees? Is it another god with GOD? Indeed, they are people who have deviated. ” Quran 27:60

  13. Your favourite shot is great, but its slightly crooked. That I noticed instantly. But all the other photos are great! my fav is the mushroom/trees photo. The moorlands look very much like the high country (Castle Hill, Mackenzie High Country, etc) here in Canterbury New Zealand. Also like the unobtrusive watermark. Possibly the first time I’ve seen a watermark look good on a photo.

  14. Nothing like gazing at nature. I love to allways wonder about the essence of it, of the Careator. What a colors!!!! I love it! The calm waters are my favorite one, it makes me think of rest, joy, fulfillment, and for a few minutes I forsoke food & entertainment. That’s a great thing every now and then. Job well done!!!!
    ~Great Love to you,
    Mirian from peelingtheorange. “)

    Thumbs UP!!!!

  15. Pingback: Thruscross Reservoir Walk (via Christopher Campbell Photography) « Carla Pax·

  16. Stopped by your blog here for the first time – what an impressive and great series og autumn images you show here. Many super shots! I’ll be back….

Leave a Reply

